Florence is magnificent! We arrived yesterday around 1:00. I paid .70 euro to use the bathroom at the train station and it was so strange because there was a blacklight in the stall. Maybe to see all the gross stuff better? I don't know...
Our hotel is really unique. It has nine rooms and a litt court yard where they serve breakfast and coffee in the morning. Its really hidden on the street and you need two keys a password to get in.
After we dropped our stuff we headed to the Duomo. The building is amazing, of course. I can't get over the amount of detail and how old it all is. We then climbed 414 steps up Giotti's Tower and looked out onto the entire city. It was beautiful, but I have to admit when I thought about how old the structure was, I got a little scared of heights. We then climbed back down the 414 steps and marched along the street towards ponche vechio. Just us and few 1000 of our closest friends.
There are tourists everywhere! Sometimes it feels like I'm at Disneyland because the scenery is so extraordinary and there are people from all over the world surrounding you...its somewhat comforting to be able to find an american wherever you go, but also frustrating because I'm in italy and I shouldn't be able to speak so much English...
Along the bridge we saw some of the most beautiful jewelry I have ever seen. Everything is old and beautiful, even the boxes are unique.
After the bridge we hiked up what felt like another 4000 stairs and hills to the top of pilazzo michelangelo where we watched the sunset and looked out onto the city. It looked exactly like the pictures I've seen in the books, except it was real and it was mine.
Afterwards we walked down to a small wine bar on the street and sat with the locals eating bruschetta and drinking wine. It was perfect.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment